Ziosk a way to get immediate feedback -The Imperfect Org

“Ziosk”, I have thought of a similar idea, from an Organizational Development standpoint that provides feedback from the customer ASAP. Organizational Development (OD) is always hinging upon receiving feedback from a program’s users, immediately after implementation.

Technically and academically speaking, one should be able to receive 100% feedback percentages right after program implementation but of course this is not realistic. Most OD students who question this rate of return have probably wondered the same thing, “how does one receive a high percentage of feedback in a timely manner”?

I believe this electronic Ziosk is the answer to restaurants receiving the necessary feedback for streamlining and improving their organizations’ customer service and corporate procedures.
I recently visited a Chili’s Restaurant, due to the fact that all my kitchenware was packed up from moving when I saw this device sitting on the edge of my table. During my first encounter, I was unable to use it. I asked the waitress about it, and she stated it was for their guest to pay their checks, but the battery was dead.  As a result, we paid the check the old fashion way.

The second time around I was more successful. Upon using it, I questioned if this was something to just hold the restaurants’ guest attention while they wait for their order’s to arrive.  For example, to play games, or view pictures of new food items on Chilli’s menu.

However, after not only using the device to pay for my meal and leave a tip, I was able to quickly provide a survey on the same device! I cannot tell you how happy that made me!  And let me add, this feedback session did not take a long time.  I was done with paying for my check, applying a tip, and completing the survey in less than two minutes.  Shorter than the length of time it takes to track down or wait for your waiter or waitress to return and grab your money to pay the bill in most restaurants.

The thought of this machine significantly lowered my anxiety over future visits, because now if there is something I do not like, I can express myself in this immediate survey.
No more asking for a manager or worrying that if I complained my food would be spit on.  I could wait until the end of my service, pay my bill, and provide feedback!

“Guests are able to give real time feedback through a proprietary tool called zSurvey™. Over 30% of guests opt-in to zSurvey without incentive where traditional printed receipt methods yield less than 1%.” ziosk.com

Now, I must admit I am not versed in all the technical jargon regarding Ziosk, nor how the data is translated and scored for corporate consumption and translation. But, I believe this device is a great step to getting immediate feedback for the company and hopefully do better next time (the server from the 1st visit was better than my 2nd visit).

The survey used the Likert scale for the customer to rate the server’s performance, and the organization’s product and at the end asked questions on how to improve each.  A typical basic survey but the fact the organization had it at the table for immediate usage was brilliant and academic. I hope more restaurants and organizations adopt this type of device for use in the future.

One drawback that I can see right now, (but this may not affect the vast majority), is that you have to physically touch the screen to complete your transaction.  However, this is no different from all of the other touch screens in the world that vendors use (such as ATM’s or the tablets at checkout lines).  I am a germaphobe so I thought I would mention this for all my other OCD readers. But if you’re like me, you keep hand sanitizer close by.

Another drawback is that there is no real incentive to completing the survey (unless the server did you wrong or you are OD freak like me)! No dollars off the next visit or discount off the current bill, so even though the device can reach that 100% customer feedback goal I believe that many customers just pay, give a tip, and then leave. And in turn leaving an opportunity to gain valuable data on the performance of their store’s employees and the products they are offering. Or the customer can completely skip the survey (it’s not mandatory).

It’s like being in a race and owning the “batmobile” but not filling it up with gas.  The car makes a great conversation piece but it will not travel far.Although I am pumped about this device Ziosk, it will be interesting to follow the fate of it.

How successful do you think “Ziosk” will be in providing immediate feedback?
To learn more, please visit http://www.ziosk.com/

Author: theimperfectorg

“Joi Su”, has been diligently working to help bridge the gap between what people expect in any organization and what they receive. Joi Su has earned a Master’s degree in Organization Development and a Bachelors in Psychology with an emphasis on Applied Behavioral Analysis.

Leave a Reply

