The Workplace – Is it really a job or a Revolving Door? -The Imperfect Org

No sooner than employees join the organization than they are leaving and walking right back out of the door.

Before this takes place, my observation has been that these employees enter the company, happy, hopeful, even to the degree of applying for other roles and positions, to hearing within two to three years they have had it and that day, is their last day.  Another employee “bites the dust”, and exits the “revolving door”.  These employees also seem to dote on their new job roles and higher positions with other organizations. I celebrate, then ponder just a bit.
So I ask myself, am I at a stalemate? Have I compromised? Have I worn out my welcome? Have I stayed too long?
I am genuinely happy when I hear of these employees finding something new and seeing the joy on their faces.  Pure elation.
But while hearing of their great news, my thoughts ponder and morale decreases each and every time I hear that another employee, that has only been employed there for 2.5 years, is now walking out the door.
And then I decide to settle my conscious with “self-talk” (1996, Stoop).
This is only my “current situation”. Possibilities are endless. My time will come.
Have you ever felt this way?
Stoop, D. (1996). You are what you think. Grand Rapid, MI: Revell.
Author: theimperfectorg

“Joi Su”, has been diligently working to help bridge the gap between what people expect in any organization and what they receive. Joi Su has earned a Master’s degree in Organization Development and a Bachelors in Psychology with an emphasis on Applied Behavioral Analysis.

Leave a Reply

