Should I or Should I not apply for that line leadership position? Office Rant … -The Imperfect Org

 

Should I or Should I not apply for that line leadership position? Office Rant …

I have had the pleasure of working in an office in which management had to plead and beg for individuals to apply for a line leader position.
I can’t lie, I was usually up for applying for leadership positions, but this was one that somehow lacked the esteem and luster that I usually find with such positions.  Maybe it was not the position, maybe it was me.
If it were at least 8 years ago, I would have jumped at the opportunity.  However these days, having a different perspective on organizations, I simply passed it up.
But I could not help, but answer why management had to plead for people to apply?
There used to be a time where this position would have been viewed as a position of power.  Well, not anymore.  Having seen this organization in practice, I have noticed trends of employees becoming more educated and requiring less stress in their life, so why place oneself into such positions when 99% of the time, you will do most of the work, and this hard work does not pay off nor lead to further promotion up the corporate ladder?
No they don’t always hire a person for a management position because they worked on the team as a leader.  So is it really worth it? Will this position translate as success in my next job opportunity, or is it just one more thing that takes my time and adds unnecessary stress?
Author: theimperfectorg

“Joi Su”, has been diligently working to help bridge the gap between what people expect in any organization and what they receive. Joi Su has earned a Master’s degree in Organization Development and a Bachelors in Psychology with an emphasis on Applied Behavioral Analysis.

Leave a Reply

