“Meditation for healing the workplace ill’s” -The Imperfect Org

I read this enlightening article on the OCAI website that carefully detailed “Practical tips for positive leaders” (Bremer, 2016, para. 13). One of the statements that was made was,

“Practice openness of mind with a method such as mindfulness: train your brain to notice details but not judge. Simply mindfully notice what you observe” (Bremer, 2016, para. 13).

This is great advice when wanting to warrant a positive atmosphere inside the workplace, (as appreciative inquiry and positive psychologist promote).

However you should know that “will power” alone will not always conquer such “mindfulness”.  Some of us, like myself, need a little extra help.  Trust me, oh judgmental me has tried it in the past (without meditation) and came back unsuccessful.

Once you have made mindful observations in meetings or with co-workers think of how you can use this to build strength to your team. For me I have begun using positive attributes and meditating as a way of nourishing relationships.

When my work day is done and I am home relaxed, I practice focused meditation. By “meditating” and replacing any ill willed thoughts I’ve had towards leadership or employees, and refocusing my thoughts to something positive, I found myself more eager to go to work.

Instead of being judgmental, I take those details that I have mindfully noticed, and use them to generate positive thoughts that helps me better understand my coworkers (instead of being so ready to ridicule and point the finger).

Over time I began to notice I softened towards my coworker’s. And that major issue I had previously focused on, that made me sick to think about, was replaced with a healthy working relationship.

I am learning that in life there are many disappointments. As a result sometimes you just have to grieve an issue and keep it moving. Meditation helps to place a lot of that in perspective so you know when to utilitze what you have mindfully noticed, and what to simply let go.

Check out this great article from Marcella Bremer.  She has many, many more wonderful tips that can be utilized in the workplace.

Reference

Bremer, M. (2016). Positive Leadership: How to open up to Positive Possibilities?Retrieved from https://www.ocai-online.com/blog/2016/11/Positive-Leadership-How-to-Open-up-to-Positive-Possibilities?utm_source=ws20170312&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=ows

Author: theimperfectorg

“Joi Su”, has been diligently working to help bridge the gap between what people expect in any organization and what they receive. Joi Su has earned a Master’s degree in Organization Development and a Bachelors in Psychology with an emphasis on Applied Behavioral Analysis.

Leave a Reply

